Latest Lab News

March 2020: Congrats PhD alumni Zhe Cheng and Luke Yates for their surface-activated bonded GaN-diamond work published in ACS AMI!

News reports from,   Compound Semiconductor,  Science Daily, AAAS eurekalert,   Semiconductor Digest (editor’s pick)

February 2020: Nobel Prize Winner Prof. Hiroshi Amano visited Gatech to deliver the Gegenheimer Trailblazer Lecture. Prof. Amano had lunch with the Graham group members.

December 2019: Farewell Lunch for Darshan and Zhe.

December 2019: Graham group outing at Midtown Bowl.



October 2019: EMRL current and past members at ASME InterPACK 2019.

August 2019: Jinho Hah attended the DuraMAT Fall 2019 Workshop and won the best poster award. Congratulations!

August 2019: Zhe Cheng spent two months at Nagoya University, Japan with Nobel Prize Winner Prof. Hiroshi Amano.

July 2019: Dr. Graham and Zhe visited Prof. Tadatomo Suga’s lab at University of Tokyo to continue collaboration on thermal transport across heterogeneously integrated interfaces via surface activated bonding.

July 2019: Jordon Hoyer, a summer intern, who worked with Darshan, Chidinma and Brian to develop transient liquid phase bonding techniques to attach aluminum foam to AlSiC, presents his work at the conclusion of SURE program. Congratulations Jordon!

May 2019: The Graham Lab at ITherm 2019, Las Vegas, NV.

April 2019: Nick Hines successfully defends his MS thesis. Congratulations!

April 2019: Graham Lab at the Top Golf for Luke’s farewell!

March 2019: Luke Yates successfully defends his PhD dissertation. Congratulations!

March 2019: Michael Sulkis defends his M.S. thesis successfully. Congratulations!

August 2018:  Woodruff School Faculty Receive MURI Award from DOD

Congratulations to Professor Graham and everyone involved on their multiple MURI awards!

The Multidisciplinary University Research Initiative program will provide more than $15M in funding over 5 years in order to investigate significant heat transport concerns in next-generation wide and ultra-wide bandgap electronics. The research efforts will consist of a collaboration with Massachusetts Institute of Technology; University of Notre Dame; University of Virginia; University of California, Los Angeles; University of South Carolina, and multiple government agencies.

Additional information can be found here: GT Article.

July 2018:  Going away events for Georges.

July 2018:  Dr. Graham appointed as the school chair. Congratulations Dr. Graham!

June 2018:  Atlanta United defeated Orlando City (4-0).

May 2018:  Georges Pavlidis and Luke Yates receive Outstanding and Best Poster awards for their technical tracks at ITherm. Congratulations! GT Article

Spring 2018:  Minseok, Ankit, and Georges successfully defended their dissertations. Congratulations!

December 2017:  Wale successfully defended his dissertation. Congratulations!

August 2017:  Georges received second place in the poster competition at ASME InterPACK at San Francisco, CA.

August 2017:  Graham group at ASME InterPACK 2017. 

July 2017: Lab members out celebrating Waylon and Kenechi’s successful MS thesis defense. Congratulations!

July 2017: Kenechi Agbim and Waylon Puckett successfully defended their MS Thesis!

June 2017: Luke Yates was awarded the NSF GROW Fellowship and spent 3 months working at Nagoya University, Japan with Nobel Prize Winner Hiroshi Amano

June 2016: Georges Pavlidis was awarded the NSF EAPSI Fellowship to perform 10 weeks of research at Nagoya University, Japan with Nobel Prize Winner Hiroshi Amano

August 2015:  Luke Yates was chosen as a recipient of the National Science Foundation’s Graduate Research Fellowship. Congratulations!

May 2014:  Prof. Graham named Rae S. and Frank H. Neely Chair in Mechanical Engineering.

April 2014:  Samuel Kim successfully defended his MS Thesis.  Congratulations!!

March 2014:  Yvette Chen successfully defended her MS Thesis.  Congratulations!!

George Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering